African Travel Concept


Yellow Fever Update

All travellers must provide a valid yellow fever international health certificate upon arrival into: South Africa, Namibia, Mozambique, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Swaziland. This requirement applies for all travellers over 1 year of age travelling from an infected area or having been in transit through infected areas (see list of infected countries below). 

This is in line with the International Health Regulations (IHR, 2005) who allow countries at risk to obtain vaccination certificates from individuals travelling from areas determined by the World Health Organization (WHO) to be infected by yellow fever. 

The following measures will be exercised by above mentioned countries for all travelers from high risk countries, who are unable to produce a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate at the port of entry:

- Refused entry; or

- Quarantined until their certificate becomes valid, or for a period of not more than six days; or

- Those with an exemption certificate due to medical reasons may be allowed entry and required to report any fever or other symptoms to the health authorities and be placed under surveillance.


NB: Definition of a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate:  Vaccination should be approved by the WHO (World Health Organization) and administered at least 10 days before departure to above mentioned countries at yellow fever-approved vaccination centers as the vaccine offers protection 10 days after administration.  If vaccination is administered less than 10 days before departure, the above measure will be applied.


These are yellow fever declared countries:


  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia


South America & Central America:

  • Argentina
  • Misiones Province
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador excluding Galapagos Islands
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad
  • Tobago
  • Venezuela

l cancel