African Travel Concept


SA dominates at 2015 World Travel Awards for Africa

Cape Town - South Africa has dominated once again at the recent 2015 World Travel Awards (WTA) for Africa and the Indian Ocean when it won 19 "Leading Africa' awards" - the most of any other country on the African continent - at the Gala Ceremony. 

South African Awards include OR Tambo International Airport being named "Africa''s Leading Airport 2015'", as well as South African Airways named "Africa's Leading Airline 2015', among others. 

In December last year Traveller24 reported that South Africa was named as the World's Leading Safari Destination. 

The complete list of South African contributors to "Africa's Leading" travel related companies for 2015 are as follows:

Africa's Leading Airline 2015 
South African Airways

Africa's Leading Airport 2015
OR Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg

Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel 2015
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Africa's Leading City Hotel 2015
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Africa's Leading Conservation Company 2015
Shamwari Game Reserve

Africa's Leading Game Reserve Brand 2015

Africa's Leading Family Resort 2015
Sun City Resort

Africa's Leading Hotel Residences 2015
Michelangelo Towers

Africa's Leading Inflight Magazine 2015
Sawubona (South African Airways)

Africa's Leading Low-Cost Airline 2015

Africa's Leading Luxury Lodge 2015
Thanda Private Game Reserve

Africa's Leading Luxury Private Villa 2015
Molori Clifton, Cape Town

Africa's Leading Meetings & Conference Center 2015
Durban International Convention Center

Africa's Leading Meetings & Conference Destination 2015

Africa's Leading Luxury Train 2015
The Blue Train 

Africa's Leading Private Game Reserve 2015
Shambala Private Reserve

Africa's Leading Serviced Apartments 2015
Lawhill Luxury Apartments

Africa's Leading Sports Resort 2015
Legend Golf & Safari Resort

2015's Leading Africa Awards sees a few of the winners maintaining a streak of victory, since South African airways, The Blue Train and the Saxon Hotel, for example, have all been named as the 'Best in Africa' for two consecutive years.  

The World Travel Awards was established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry. Today, the WTA brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

Each year WTA covers the globe with a series of regional gala ceremonies staged to recognise and celebrate individual and collective successes within each key geographical region.

- Traveller24

l cancel