African Travel Concept

iSimangaliso Wetland Park

Der iSimangaliso Wetland Park liegt 300km nördlich von Durban an der subtropischen Küste von Kwazulu-Natal.

Dieses Nationalreservat, früher bekannt als Greater St Lucia Wetland Park, ist ein erstklassiges Reiseziel für diejenigen, die nach einer Kombination aus Land- und Meerestieren suchen.

Der Wetland Park gilt als der einzige Ort der Welt, an dem das älteste Landsäugetier (das Nashorn) und das größte Landsäugetier (der Elefant) ein Ökosystem mit dem ältesten Fisch der Welt (dem Quastenflosser) und dem größten Meeressäugetier (dem Wal) teilen.

Einige der ökologischen Schätze der Region sind 100 Korallenarten, 8 vernetzte Ökosysteme, der letzte große Sumpfwald Südafrikas, 3 große Seen, darunter Kosi Bay, Lake St Lucia und Lake Sibayi und 105 Jahre des Umweltschutzes, die es zu Afrikas ältestem Schutzgebiet machen.

Der Park ist eine großartige Erfahrung, sowohl für Wildtier-Liebhaber, als auch für diejenigen, die sich für die einheimische Kultur interessieren. iSimangaliso ist Heimat bedeutender Kulturerbestätten, wo Sie 5 verschiedenen kulturellen Gruppen einschließlich der Zulu, Swazi, Shangaan, Tonga und Gonda begegnen werden.






l cancel

African Travel Concept

iSimangaliso Wetland Park

The iSimangaliso Wetland Park is located 300km north of Durban, on Kwazulu-Natal’s sub-tropical coastline.

This national reserve, formerly known as the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park, is a prime destination for those looking for a combination of land-based and marine wildlife. 

The Wetland Park is regarded as the only place on the globe where the world’s oldest land mammal (the rhinoceros) and largest land mammal (the elephant) share an ecosystem with the world’s oldest fish (the coelacanth) and largest marine mammal (the whale).

Some of the ecological treasures of the region include 100 species of coral, 8 interlinking ecosystems, the last major swamp forests left in South Africa, 3 major lake systems including Kosi Bay, Lake St Lucia and Lake Sibayi, and 105 years of conservation, which makes it Africa’s oldest protected area.

The Park is an amazing experience for both the wildlife enthusiast and those curious about local culture. iSimangaliso is home to significant cultural heritage sites where you will  encounter 5 distinct cultural groups including Zulu, Swazi, Shangaan, Tonga and Gonda.






l cancel